Ukraine and Russia

At the moment, most of my time is spent researching for, and writing, my next book, ‘Headlines from the Holy Land’. I wrote a short post about it last month.

I have also been keeping a close eye on events in Ukraine. As a producer for Reuters TV in August 1991, I stood among the crowd which watched the Ukrainian Soviet flag being  lowered from the roof of the rada, or parliament. The blue and yellow Ukrainian flag was raised in its place.

The events of the last months have shown how much still remains undecided after the collapse of the USSR more than two decades ago. Earlier this week, I shared some of my impressions of the situation between Russia and Ukraine now on Arise TV’s Newshour Programme. You can see it here (my interview starts at 5’05), and my contribution earlier this month here (interview starts at 4’29).

 

Leave a Reply

